top of page

Self harm distractions


Hello Mental Health advocator,

I'm sorry you've needed to see this post but I'm proud of you for being here. Self harm is a difficult messy topic that people often try to squash down and avoid, this can leave the sufferer having to deal with the issue alone and as I'm sure many of us know, stopping self harm alone is very difficult - but not impossible!! If you're ready to stop self harming then you need to pick up some new coping mechanisms and have some distractions for when those urges return (because unfortunately its likely that they will.) Below are a few that have worked for me, if you can then I recommend printing this out or creating your own poster and sticking it on your wall where you can see it easily. I hope these help even it's only a little.

START A JOURNAL

DRAW WHERE YOU WANT TO HARM

CALL A FRIEND

GO FOR A WALK

WATCH YOUTUBE

HAVE A BATH

START A BLOG

DO SOME BAKING

WRITE IT ALL DOWN

CRY

PLAY WITH YOUR PETS

READ A BOOK

WATCH A MOVIE

SCROLL THROUGH SOCIAL MEDIA

WRITE A BOOK

DANCE

READ A MAGAZINE

REARRANGE YOUR ROOM

PLAN SOME FUN DAYS OUT

REARRANGE YOUR CALANDER

WRITE A DIARY

LISTEN TO MUSIC

GO TO SLEEP

SHOP ONLINE

PAINT

ENJOY NATURE

SIT IN SILENCE

MEDITATE

SQUEEZE AN ICE CUBE

PLAY VIDEO GAMES

GO TO A SAFE PLACE

POP BUBBLE WRAP

Of course these are only a few of the very many that you can find out there but I hope that they've given you an idea of some of the kind of things you can do to take better care of yourself.

DISCLAIMER: Information above is not fact checked, I am not a medical professional and my words should not be taken as if they were from a professional. All information provided is either something I have been told by a doctor, physiatrist or counsellor and was relevant to my own experience at the time (but may not be useful/ relevant for your own unique experience) or was something I noticed first hand from my own journey or someone noticed first hand and told me about their journey with similar issues. No information provided should be taken in replace of seeing a doctor.

Remember to drop your opinions on the matter in the comments below and follow me in order to stay updated with new posts so we can continue to fight the stigma surrounding mental illness together!! Share to raise awareness. <3

Stay strong, Stay positive, Stay beautiful - Stay you.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page